Home / Calendar



OCFS: 1- 9 | CBK: 5, 7 | CDA: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6 | QS: 1- 4

The Health and Safety training series is required for
anyone wishing to become registered or licensed as a
home-based Family or Group Family Child Care
Provider in New York State. The training will cover the
Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) training
modules such as proper diapering, sanitizing, childcare
safety, and nutrition.

COST: $240 (includes materials)

TIMES: 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. (Weekdays)
DATES: Monday - Wednesday
September 10 - 12, 2018
September 24 - 26, 2018 (Spanish)
October 8 - 10, 2018
November 12 - 14, 2018
November 26 - 28, 2018 (Spanish)
December 1, 8 & 15, 2018 (English only on Saturdays)

Must register online to receive certificate (see page 6
for instructions). Your registration is not complete
with CDSC until FULL PAYMENT has been
received before the training start date.

Prerequisite: Completion of the Online Child Care Orientation and have obtained a child care Facility ID number.

$70 For 5 Hours Of Training

10 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

SEPTEMBER 22, 2018
OCFS: 1, 3 | CDA: 8, 9, 11 | CBK: 1, 2, 3

The strengths that help people bounce back are called
protective factors. Participants will gain knowledge in
facilitating three protective factors regarding young children’s
development and learn how these factors build strong
social/emotional foundations, which are important in helping
them grow into children that are more resilient.
OCFS: 1, 3 | CDA: 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 | CBK: 1, 3
In this training, care givers will learn how to facilitate early
learning & cognitive development in young children through
the understanding of six themes (discoveries): learning
schemes, cause and effect, use of tools, object permanence,
understanding of space, and imitation.

OCTOBER 27, 2018

OCFS: 4, 5, 6, 8 | CDA: 11, 12 13| CBK: 2
This class will focus on your child care program’s role in the
identification and prevention of child abuse and maltreatment
while learning how to support your staff in developing
collaborative relations with families. We will examine
strategies to help caregivers in their understanding of the
preventive role as mandated reporters.

OCFS: 2, 7 | CDA: 1, 2 | CBK: 5
This class will review program health management systems
using the OCFS Health Care Plan as a guide in establishing
basic health policies. Discussions will include appropriate
health practices in childcare based on best practices and
regulatory guidelines.

See more training classes...







The training we offer fulfills one or more of the requirements from each NYS Office of Children and Family Services topic areas, Core Body of Knowledge and the Child Development Associate goals Functional Areas. The training topics lists which of the topic areas it fulfills using the following index. 

New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) Training Content Topic Areas

Each registered family day care provider is required to complete at least 15 hours of training during the first six months of registration and at least 30 hours of training during each registration period. This training must include each of the following topics:


OCFS 1: Principles of childhood development

OCFS 2: Nutrition and health needs of infants and children

OCFS 3: Child day care program development

OCFS 4: Safety and security procedures & communication between parents and staff

OCFS 5: Business record maintenance and management

OCFS 6: Child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention

OCFS 7: Statutes and regulations pertaining to child day care

OCFS 8: Statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment

OCFS 9: Identification, diagnosis and prevention of shaken baby syndrome

For more information, visit www.ocfs.state.ny.us


Core Body of Knowledge: NYS’s Core Competencies for Early Childhood Educators

Core Body of Knowledge outlines recommended practices for professionals who work with young children. These practices offer a road map for building meaningful relationships with children, families and colleagues, for creating nurturing, stimulating environments, and for developing oneself as a professional in the early childhood field.

COK1: Child Growth and Development

COK2: Family and Community Relationships

COK3: Observation and Assessment
COK4: Environment and Curriculum
COK5: Health, Safety and Nutrition
COK6: Professionalism and Leadership
COK7: Administration and Management

For more information visit

Child Development Associate (CDA)
CDA  is a widely recognized credential in early childhood education (ECE) and is a key stepping stone on the path of career advancement in ECE. The CDA is based on a core set of competency standards, which guide early care

CDA: To establish and maintain a safe healthy environment
CDA: To advance physical and intellectual competency
CDA: To support social and emotional development and to provide positive guidance
CDA: To establish a productive relationship with families
CDA: To ensure a well-run, purposeful program responsive to participants needs
CDA: To maintain a commitment to professionalism

For more information visit www.cdacouncil.org


Updated 2/6/16